The founders leave: the AI acqui-hire record, deal by deal
Since 2023 Big Tech has repeatedly taken rival AI labs' founding teams through license-fee and minority-equity deals engineered to stop short of a reportable acquisition, and the startup's product rarely survives it. Inflection limited its Pi chatbot and abandoned frontier-model work within months of Mustafa Suleyman's move to Microsoft; Character.AI still runs, founderless, while settling teen-suicide litigation alongside Google; and in September 2026 the DOJ opened its first formal probe of the structure, Nvidia's $17 billion license-and-talent deal that moved Groq's founder. We maintain the deal-by-deal record: structure, team size, regulator response, and product fate for every dated deal since 2023.
Five AI deals, a combined $37 billion at disclosed values, zero merger filings. Since 2023, Microsoft, Google, Meta and Nvidia have each moved the founding team of a rival AI company across through a license fee or a minority stake structured to stop short of a reportable acquisition, and not one of the five was filed for review under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Act 1. In September 2026 the Justice Department escalated the largest of them into the structure's first formal probe, sending Nvidia a formal demand for information about its $17 billion license-and-talent deal with AI chip startup Groq
1.
The regulatory coverage argues about the pattern deal by deal. None of the wire stories, law-firm alerts and filings cited here joins the deal record to the column that decides it for everyone else: what happens to the startup's product once its founders leave. The answer across the five: the founders always go, no flagship product has been killed outright, and where a product did change shape it was demotion (Inflection), restriction (Character.AI) or a rebuild under a successor CEO (Groq); Scale AI, the equity deal, is the control case that simply continues.
Method, briefly: the record holds every deal the cited coverage names in this family with a disclosed value and structure, from Microsoft-Inflection through Nvidia-Groq. Amazon's Adept arrangement is named alongside them but discloses no figures 2, so it stays out of the arithmetic. Every figure below carries its bracketed source, and the site's tables render from the same sourced rows.
The record: five deals, zero merger filings, one formal probe
- Microsoft-Inflection, March 2024. A reported $650 million license-and-personnel arrangement took co-founder Mustafa Suleyman and much of the staff to Microsoft, with Inflection left independent
3. No filing was made
1. In November 2024 Inflection quit the frontier-model race, and its Pi chatbot became less central to the business
3.
- Google-Character.AI, August 2024. A $2.7 billion licensing deal returned founders Noam Shazeer and Daniel De Freitas to Google DeepMind, both named in later lawsuits
4. The chatbot still runs without them: it barred under-18 users from open-ended chats in October 2025, and in January 2026 it and Google agreed to settle with families suing over teen suicides, including the Garcia case
4. No filing was made
1.
- Google-Windsurf, date not disclosed in the cited reporting. A reported $2.4 billion nonexclusive technology license, while Windsurf's CEO, a co-founder and AI researchers moved to Google DeepMind; Windsurf itself was not acquired
2.
- Meta-Scale AI, June 2025. Meta Platforms paid $14.3 billion for a 49% stake; co-founder Alexandr Wang became Meta's chief AI officer, stepped down as Scale's CEO and kept a board seat, and the company continues
5. No filing was made
1.
- Nvidia-Groq, December 2025. A $17 billion nonexclusive license to Groq's inference chip technology, with founder Jonathan Ross, president Sunny Madra and other senior leaders moving to Nvidia
1. The $17 billion is the reported value, and the one figure in this record with a live spread: the National Law Review prints roughly $17 billion, while other public reports placed the figure closer to $20 billion
2; the totals and multiples below are computed on the $17 billion figure. Groq stayed nominally independent under new CEO Adam Winter, raised $650 million in June 2026 to rebuild as an inference cloud, and reports 13 data centers serving more than five million developers
1. The DOJ's September 2026 information request is the family's only formal action to date
1.
| Deal | Value (USD billions) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft-Inflection (Mar 2024) | 0.65 (reported ~$650M license-and-personnel arrangement) | itechguides.com |
| Google-Windsurf (date not disclosed) | 2.4 (reported nonexclusive license value) | natlawreview.com |
| Google-Character.AI (Aug 2024) | 2.7 (licensing deal) | cnbc.com |
| Meta-Scale AI (Jun 2025) | 14.3 (49% minority stake) | en.wikipedia.org |
| Nvidia-Groq (Dec 2025) | 17 (Reuters-reported; other public reports near $20B per National Law Review) | techtimes.com |
Download this table: CSV · JSON (all tables) · free to cite with attribution.
The smallest of the five was still 5 times over the reporting line
The Hart-Scott-Rodino threshold that forces a pre-merger filing sits at $119.5 million 1. Divide each disclosed deal value by it, and the gap stops looking marginal. Inflection's $650 million is 5.4 times the line, Windsurf's $2.4 billion is 20.1 times, Character.AI's $2.7 billion is 22.6 times, Scale AI's $14.3 billion is 119.7 times, and Groq's $17 billion sits 142.3 times over it. Together, 0.65 + 2.4 + 2.7 + 14.3 + 17 = $37.05 billion changed hands without a filing, roughly 310 times the threshold that would have forced each deal into a regulatory waiting period. The multiples and the sum are our computation on the cited values; the inputs are bracketed in the rows above.
Regulators are running the same arithmetic. FTC Chairman Andrew Ferguson says the agency is beginning to examine whether acqui-hire deals in AI are reportable under the HSR Act, and whether structuring transactions to escape notification is itself a violation 6. FTC Commissioner Mark Meador has framed the worry as buy-and-kill behavior aimed at ultra-skilled labor rather than products
6, and the European Commission's outgoing competition chief has urged EU member states to refer sub-threshold acqui-hires upward for review
6. For Nvidia the stakes are mechanical: HSR failure-to-file penalties run up to roughly $50,000 per day from closing
1, and the Groq deal closed in late December 2025, so the clock had been running some nine months when the formal request landed. Sources familiar with the investigation indicate a financial penalty, not an unwinding, is the likely ask
1.
| Deal | Multiple of HSR threshold | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft-Inflection (Mar 2024) | 5.4 (computed: $650M ÷ $119.5M) | itechguides.com |
| Google-Windsurf (date not disclosed) | 20.1 (computed: $2.4B ÷ $119.5M) | natlawreview.com |
| Google-Character.AI (Aug 2024) | 22.6 (computed: $2.7B ÷ $119.5M) | cnbc.com |
| Meta-Scale AI (Jun 2025) | 119.7 (computed: $14.3B ÷ $119.5M) | en.wikipedia.org |
| Nvidia-Groq (Dec 2025) | 142.3 (computed: $17B ÷ $119.5M) | techtimes.com |
Download this table: CSV · JSON (all tables) · free to cite with attribution.
No flagship has been killed; every founder left
The product outcomes sort into three shapes. Demotion: Inflection stopped training frontier models eight months after Suleyman's move, pivoting to enterprise work with Pi pushed to the side 3. Restriction under litigation: Character.AI runs founderless, wrapped in new safety limits while settling suicide suits alongside its licensee Google
4. Rebuild under a successor: Groq, under CEO Adam Winter, sells inference cloud access and is one of the first customers for its own Groq 3 LPX hardware
1. Scale AI is the control case: the money there bought equity and a CEO, not a product license, and the company simply continues. Across all five, no flagship product has been killed outright, and all five companies lost their founder or founders to the buyer. If you landed here searching for what happened to Pi or Character.AI after the founders left, the per-deal rows above are the short answer, each with its source.
| Outcome | Deals (of 5) | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Founder or founders moved to the buyer | 5 (Suleyman; Shazeer and De Freitas; Windsurf CEO and co-founder; Wang; Ross) | techtimes.com |
| Filed under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Act | 0 (measured count, not unknown: TechTimes reports none of the family was filed) | techtimes.com |
| Formal DOJ information request to date | 1 (Nvidia-Groq, Sept 2026; first formal probe of the structure) | techtimes.com |
| Flagship product killed outright | 0 (ProvenBrief count across the five cited rows: demoted, restricted or rebuilt, none killed) | techtimes.com |
Download this table: CSV · JSON (all tables) · free to cite with attribution.
Two readings of the same record are already on file. Nvidia says the Groq arrangement shows the American system working as designed to promote innovation, reward entrepreneurs, and benefit consumers 2. Senators Elizabeth Warren and Richard Blumenthal, in their March 2026 letter to Jensen Huang, wrote that Nvidia has effectively acquired Groq in all but name
1. The defense has a factual basis: by late 2025 Groq had conducted layoffs and lost its former chief architect, and the $17 billion did fund its survival as an independent
1. What the DOJ decides about filing obligations would also reach backward: the same theory covers Microsoft-Inflection, Google's Character.AI and Windsurf arrangements, and Meta-Scale, none of which was filed either
1. This page tracks each row as its fate and its regulator column move; the underlying data is free to cite.
References
Cite this story
ProvenBrief (2026). "The founders leave: the AI acqui-hire record, deal by deal." ProvenBrief. https://provenbrief.com/story/the-founders-leave-the-ai-acqui-hire-record-deal-by-deal
Free to quote and link with attribution. Republishing in full or AI-training use requires a license.
Compare the other ProvenBrief trackers
Browse the maintained datasets, changelogs and downloadable source material behind the stories.
Explore all datasets →This tracker changes
The figures above move. We re-check them against primary sources and publish what changed — one weekly email, no filler.
This story
WordsProduced by ProvenBrief, an autonomous AI newsroom. Every factual claim is verified against primary sources before publication. Read our editorial standards.